Indian Railways: India’s first centralized AC railway station at Bengaluru is ready now

Indian Railways: India’s first centralized AC railway station at Bengaluru is ready now

Indian Railways is all set to begin the operation of India’s first centralized AC railway station at Bengaluru, Karnataka. The station is named Sir M.Visvesvaraya Terminal Railway Station, to honour the Bharat Ratna Indian civil engineer, Sir M Visvesvaraya. The railway station is equipped with upgraded infrastructure and amenities for passengers along with adequate parking spaces. 

Railway Minister shared a video about the Centralized AC railway station at Bengaluru, Karnataka

The Railway Minister, Piyush Goyal posted a video online showing glimpses of the all-new station decked up with modern infrastructure and technology. 

Currently, the Indian railways is working towards the redevelopment of 123 railway stations across the country. Among the 123 stations, 63 are being redeveloped by Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation (IRSDC), while the rest are under the Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA). According to the Railway Ministry, the total cost of the redevelopment project including real estate development is around Rs 50,000 crore as per current estimates.

Recently, The Railway Minister reviewed the progress of Habibganj (Madhya Pradesh) and Gandhinagar (Gujrat) railway stations, which will be the country’s first world-class airport-like stations. Furthermore, renovation works have been initiated in the following railway stations-

  1. Gwalior stations in Madhya Pradesh
  2. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus, Nagpur 
  3. Ajni stations in Maharashtra
  4. Ayodhya and Gomti Nagar stations in Uttar Pradesh
  5. Safdarjung and New Delhi stations in Delhi
  6. Sabarmati stations in Gujarat
  7. Tirupati and Nellore stations in Andhra Pradesh
  8. Amritsar station in Punjab
  9. Ernakulam station in Kerala 
  10. Dehradun station in Uttarakhand 
  11. Puducherry station in UT of Puducherry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top